Archive for June, 2012

Washington Senators (1891-1899)

The Washington Senators were Washington D.C.’s first professional baseball team. They were first called the Washington Statesmen, and the more modern and current inception of the team is the Washington Nationals.

The Senators was originated in 1891 in the American Association, where it was known as the Washington Statesmen in 1891. The American Association was disbanded following the 1891 season, and the team was then bought by Philadelphia businessman J. Earl Wagner, who remained the team’s owner through 1899.

The Statesmen Read the rest of this entry »